When Is The Next Vote On The Withdrawal Agreement

On 22 October 2019, the House of Commons agreed, by 329 votes to 299, to give a second reading to the revised withdrawal agreement (negotiated by Boris Johnson earlier this month), but when the accelerated timetable it had proposed did not receive the necessary parliamentary support, Johnson announced that the law would be overturned. [38] [12] After a strong referendum campaign on 23 June, almost 52% of British voters decided to leave the EU. Before the vote, the polls had shown a tight race with a slight lead for supporters of remaining in the EU. Conservative British Prime Minister David Cameron, who argued for Britain`s continued existence, acknowledged the “will of the British people” and resigned the next morning. Before the vote, Brexit minister Steve Barclay said the vote would allow Britain to move from a long period of uncertainty. The British Parliament has passed Prime Minister Boris Johnson`s Brexit Act, which allows the UK to leave the EU. The vote ends years of battle for the initial conditions of the British exit. Former Home Secretary Theresa May replaced David Cameron as prime minister on July 11, promising the country: “Brexit is Brexit.” May had tacitly supported Remain`s campaign before the referendum. At first, she did not specify when her government would trigger Article 50 of the Treaty on European Union to begin two-year talks leading to the UK`s formal withdrawal. The agreement defines the goods, services and processes associated with them. Any provision of goods or services legally put on the market before leaving the EU may be made available to consumers in the UK or in the EU Member States (Article 40-41). The most important elements of the draft agreement are:[21] Some Labour MPs have written on Twitter about why they decided to abstain in this afternoon`s vote.

Sharon Hodgson, MP for Washington and Sunderland West, said she had always said she would not vote for a form of Brexit that would hurt the people she represents, but she understood that her constituents wanted Britain to leave the EU. Parliament`s coordination group in the United Kingdom, led by Foreign Affairs Committee Chairman David McAllister (EPP, DE), will work with the EU Task Force on Relations with the UK and will work with the Foreign Affairs Committee and the Committee on International Trade and all other relevant committees. The Pe will closely monitor the work of EU negotiator Michel Barnier and will continue to influence the negotiations through resolutions. The final agreement must be approved by the whole of Parliament. The withdrawal agreement provides for a transitional period until 31 December 2020, during which time the UK will remain in the internal market, to ensure the smooth flow of trade until a long-term relationship is concluded. If no agreement is reached by then, the UK will leave the single market without a trade deal on 1 January 2021. The withdrawal agreement is closely linked to a non-binding political declaration on future relations between the EU and the UK. The second (Amendment 20) concerns the knowledge of the Sewel Convention, which guarantees that the British Parliament cannot legislate on decentralised issues without the agreement of the de decentralised legislator. MEPs voted by 239 votes in favour and 235 against, resulting in the amendment. To enter into force, the withdrawal agreement is now voted by qualified majority by the Council. Please respect your contributions and respect community policies – and if you find a comment that you think will not comply with the guidelines, please use the “Report” link next door to let us know.

At the end of November, EU leaders approved a draft 585-page divorce agreement and a political statement on post-Brexit relations. The bill had only been widely condemned weeks earlier by anti-Brexit supporters and lawmakers in the British Parliament.

Comments are closed.